Anonymous
map-marker Staunton, Virginia

Billing & payment

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I was provide it was excellent service very knowledgeable staff and helped me immediately , Very understanding and settled the problem quickly and easily and displayed professionalism From beginning to end a phone call and I got results!
View full review

User's recommendation: Yes!!!

ASHLEY D Ncv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Benefits Plus Program Unemployment Waiver

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

On February 18th 2021 I signed a rental purchase agreement with Acceptance Now #09201 inside Mathis Brothers Furniture in Oklahoma City. The bedroom set I ordered was on back order and would not be delivered until June 7.

When signing the forms one was the agreement for the Benefits Plus Program. Marie, the manager at this location explained the terms and the benefits offered to me through the Benefits Plus Program specifically the Unemployment Waiver in the event I lose my job I can let her know and they will pay four (4) months of rental payments or $1,000.00 which ever comes first. She set my payment due date for every other Friday, bi-weekly. I paid the initial payment and she emailed me a copy of the agreements.

For the last three years I have worked diligently to build my credit and I let her know that the day the account was opened and she was explaining that how they report their payments to credit burros at 3X more than what you actually pay and told me that will help build my credit also.

I went into the store to make the payment due on 4/09 and asked the associate working (Sarah) about the Unemployment Waiver because the company I worked for six years at corporate level management closed their doors.

I filled for UI benefits on 3/28/21 and she had me email to her the unemployment monetary decision document I received when I filled for unemployment and had me sign a form. I usually make my payments with my Visa bank debit card and I was waiting for a new one in the mail because I had lost it the day before so I was paying with cash this time. I asked her if I could give her a portion right now and because it was close to closing bring the remaining first thing in the morning without this being a late payment or show up on my credit. She said what she would do is push the payment date off in the computer and that way it wouldnt be considered late.

Before I left out of the store she had spoke to Maria on the phone and Maria told her that because I dont have the furniture in my possession and that there is a "new policy" I wasnt eligible for Benefits Plus Unemployment Waiver. I wasn't upset I was just confused after going home doing my own research to find no limitations that would disqualify me or any updated company policy effecting my Benefits Plus Membership. The next day as I promised my fiancé went in the store to pay the remaining amount and Maria refused the payment. He called me on the phone and told me this so I asked to talk to her.

In the most unprofessional, disrespectful and irate manner she told me that because Im unemployed that she will not take anymore payments on the account and she is closing the account out. I told her that I didnt want the account closed and that my job was not my only means to make these payments. She said again that what she "wants to do is close the account and refund me the money I have already paid and when I am financially able to have this sort of account I can come back and open a new account." At this point, she was almost yelling, she disrespected and humiliated me. Seeing I wouldnt get anything resolved I asked for a higher level of management to help me and she gave me a 1-800 number and said she will give her district manager a message to call me but she is already aware of the situation.

I called the number and sent a email to the corporate to contact me and when I got a call the phone had disconnected, I got an email from Sondra Owens informing me that I hung up on her. I replied that I still needed to speak with someone. No one called me back so the next day I had called again and the representative on the phone said the request was opened back up and I have to wait on another representative to call me.

I never received another call and there has been no attempt for the corporate office to reach me. About a week goes by and I call to check with Maria and get this resolved at this point I was receiving late payment text alerts and that the agreement was soon to expire.

This is what my main concern was with dealing with this company was my credit score and numerous times I expressed that.

I started by informing her that I have had no contact from the corporate office or her district manager and she became defensive and said oh no her district manager did try to reach out to me yesterday. I received a voicemail from her district manager stating unfortunately she has no direct method of contact and she is unable to call from a unblocked number and sorry you will have to call the 1-800 if I needed anything further. I told Maria I want to get this resolved I asked her how my credit would be effected if I agree to close the account and accept the refund? She said it wouldnt and that I will get a full refund on the money I paid and it would be as if there wasn't a transaction.

So I went to the store right after I got off the phone. She processed 4 payments back to my card and 2 payments had to be sent via mail from the corporate office.

I reviewed my updated credit reports from all 3 bureaus and they have reported the account as closed and my credit has dropped significantly. I asked her if this account being closed would effect my credit in any way and she bluntly lied to me.

I would not have agreed to close it if it was going to effect my credit and expressed concern to her since day one.

Acceptance Now is falsely advertising and selling the Benefits Plus Program to there customers and the program waivers are fake. This lady had no right to open this account under false pretenses and lie to me about there reporting practices and additional benefits she sold to me.

I am requesting for Acceptance Now to delete and completely remove this account from my credit file for all three credit bureaus.

View full review

Preferred solution: Account removed from my credit files.

Kevin D Rot

Took my money even afta 3 days of paying furniture ofd!!

Sorry customer service reps you guys took money out of my account after I spoke with two of your representatives and they claim no money would be taken out because I choose not to give my bank account information back out you're telling me it might be a month or two before I receive my money that's not good business
View full review
Loss:
$742

Preferred solution: Refund ASAP and apology

Monika H Mdg
map-marker Colonial Heights, Virginia

Employment issues

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I used to work at Acceptance Now inside of home decor and Colonial Heights and I work for Memorial Day and I was told by Tina that I was going to get paid for another day that I take all that and I got my last check from there and it was not on there and on top of that I have an issue that I took a vacation June 4th through the 6th and when I came back I had to work nine days straight when I had PTO time and nobody refused to use it so I had an issue with that I end up getting another job and then they go to tell me that I was terminated and I don't think that is fair because I didn't get paid for all of my hours.
View full review
Cons:
  • Being fooled

Preferred solution: Answers and tell me why yall cant keep employees in colonial heights locations?

Mary P Oky

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Silver Spring, Pennsylvania

Crooked Company

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We "purchased" a bedroom suit in October of 2019. from Value City. The salesman took us to the counter at Acceptance Now and told us they would help us set up payments on the furniture. NEVER were we told it was a rent to own. They shoved a little black box at us for initials and signatures. They never gave us copies of anything, stating it would be emailed. For 14 months of payments, we asked for copies. Even the day we paid it off we asked for a copy and Lindsey Rife stated, "oh no, I can't give you that". We paid $3337 for a $1251 "loan" to purchase the furniture. Excessive sales tax, no copies, 67% interest. We took them to the local District Justice with all of our proof and the District Justice, Kathryn Silcox, found in their favor. She is now running for Judge. I guess she will be another judge favoring corporate America and not the middle class, elderly (I am 72) people in her jurisdiction. I for one, am not voting for her. stating stating it would be
View full review
Loss:
$908
Cons:
  • Excessive fees and poor customer service

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Stay away from Acceptance Now

Mary P Oky

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Silver Spring, Pennsylvania

Crooked Company

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Do not deal with this company. We never received copies of any paperwork, were charge excessive fees (67% interest) and never told it was a rent to own. We took Lindsey Rife, the franchise owner, to court and the District Justice (Kathryn Silcox), now running for judge, found in their favor even after we presented all the proof. We now have to hire an attorney and appeal. We paid $3337 for a $1251 bedroom suit plus legal fees. Choose carefully who you vote for.Ch
View full review
Loss:
$908

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Stay away

Anonymous
map-marker Princeton, West Virginia

Refund check never got couch

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
No I have been waiting on a refund check no one will ever answer when I call and I applied for a couch in feb and didnt get it paid all the way till April and they told me Id have my money back in 2-5 days and I have to call the store and the company and the customer service number and all kept giving me the run around and then finally I got told I wouldnt get for weeks and when I call to check on it no one will answer!
View full review
Kim C Hul

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Dunwoody, Georgia

Harassment/ no call from district manager

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

To whom it may concern: My name is Kimberly Casson . I am a customer at store 06011.

I've been a customer last year and on January 25, 2021 requesting a return call and help from Jason the District manager which I've never received as of today. The employee by the name of Ana has a bad attitude and very unprofessional Ana has harassed me from day one of this contract and hasn't stopped. I've requested for Ana not to contact me, but per Ana "she will call me when she's wants as many times as she wants with calling me honey". Unacceptable and Threatening especially since I'm a veteran that suffers from PTSD.

My bill was last paid on 1-22-21 and four weeks from that date is 2-22-21. On 2-15-21 Ana called with her nasty attitude and Threatening words stating again she will continue to call when she wants and how many times with calling me honey and hanging up. I've called the 770-574-**** number three times waiting to speak with a supervisor for over 45 minutes the first two times and 1 hr 40 min &;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; 4 seconds with not one time speaking with a supervisor each CSR put me on hold for a supervisor with no prevail. From day one I've had issues with this product and Ana she was rude from day one.

It's a shame this is who you have represent your company and this is how you allow your customers to be treated. I express for Ana not to call me, but yet she does. I'm pressing charges for harassment along with verbal abuse with mental anguish.

This is unacceptable. I would appreciate a call to rectify this situation please and thank you

Kim Casson

kcasson613@***.com

219 433 ****

View full review
Pros:
  • Rooms to go salesman
Cons:
  • Terrible customer service

Preferred solution: Remaining balance written off, keeping my product. Never being contacted by Ana. Apologies from District manager Jason never contacting me. Customer service on hold for over and 1hr 4 times.

4 comments
Guest

File a complaint with the CFPB

Guest

Get their mailing address and send them a certified letter to cease all call. Request that all communications be in writing to your mailing address.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1992953

Good idea. Then wait a while, and then be sued and not know about it.

Then comes the judgement and garnishment. Great advice...

Guest

Yes I was told thwy would help me through the corona virus when I was laid off my job for 2 months only to find they put in on my credit report .can't get through to anyone. Awful pkace.

View more comments (3)
Kim C Hul

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Dunwoody, Georgia

Harassment/ no call from district manager

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

To whom it may concern: My name is Kimberly Casson . I am a customer at store 06011.

I've been a customer last year and on January 25, 2021 requesting a return call and help from Jason the District manager which I've never received as of today. The employee by the name of Ana has a bad attitude and very unprofessional Ana has harassed me from day one of this contract and hasn't stopped. I've requested for Ana not to contact me, but per Ana "she will call me when she's wants as many times as she wants with calling me honey". Unacceptable and Threatening especially since I'm a veteran that suffers from PTSD.

My bill was last paid on 1-22-21 and four weeks from that date is 2-22-21. On 2-15-21 Ana called with her nasty attitude and Threatening words stating again she will continue to call when she wants and how many times with calling me honey and hanging up. I've called the 770-574-**** number three times waiting to speak with a supervisor for over 45 minutes the first two times and 1 hr 40 min &;;;;;;;;;;; 4 seconds with not one time speaking with a supervisor each CSR put me on hold for a supervisor with no prevail. From day one I've had issues with this product and Ana she was rude from day one.

It's a shame this is who you have represent your company and this is how you allow your customers to be treated. I express for Ana not to call me, but yet she does. I'm pressing charges for harassment along with verbal abuse with mental anguish.

This is unacceptable. I would appreciate a call to rectify this situation please and thank you

Kim Casson

kcasson613@***.com

219 433 ****

View full review
Cons:
  • Manager ana and jason hutchinson district manager
  • Every thing

Preferred solution: Write off the remaining balance of my bill not owning & keeping my furniture .Apologies from the District manager for never getting back with me being on hold 4 times for 45 min up to over an hour with no help. Customer service training for your manager

Patricia B Cmq
map-marker Burbank, Illinois

Payment Issue. Trying to close the account

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I had a heart attack 2/2/2021 and lost wages for two weeks. In March, I visited the store in Burbank, IL asking for my balance to close the account. I get my check 3/17. I was informed that my 120 days will be up 3/16. I asked for a 1-day extension to pay-off my account and was told that on the 17th, I will owe over 2,000 dollars when my balance to pay off is 900.00. Really!!!?? This is INSANE!!! In addition, my balance should be $700.00 not $900.00. No one can explain where the extra $200.00 came from!
View full review
Loss:
$200
Cons:
  • Unwillingness to resolve disputes to prevent additional fees

Preferred solution: Give me my 1-day to pay and close my account!!

User's recommendation: Don't EVER NEVER use Acceptance Now!!!

Jason R Iwk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Boardman, Ohio

Signing my wifes name to optional paperwork

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Acceptance will go back through your paperwork. Using their auto sign computer format. They went back and signed my wife's name to 2 different documentation. That we didn't sign. They did remove one.. But won't remove the other. And that part says optional insurance. The district manager won't call back. And even have a ticket number.so BUYER BEWARE. Go back and check your paperwork. And they break up your payments so u can't just go put. 600 dollars down for instance. They make u pay that payment. So each time they can get you on them charges. And right now I got half my stuff. And half of it was broken. And don't expect their delivery times to be even close?
View full review
Loss:
$120
Pros:
  • Forgery
  • Furniture
  • U get free furniture for 120 days
Cons:
  • Price change
  • Forgery

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Watch optional paperwork

PISSEDASSCUST52813WEMUSTFIGHTBACKourkidsCOVIDmyhusbandshardearnedmoney

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Trying to make me pay wayyyyyy more than what is on this agreement

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Ok so since I see the mention of COVID, thankfully some of these comments are pretty recent.......has ANYONE actually filed a lawsuit yet? I've seen some mention of a few ppl getting attorneys but don't see where it resolved anything?

Or am I reading the comments wrong? Back in Sept (before this damn pandemic) we went to Rooms to Go in Fl and bought a couch, we planned on getting the 90 day same as cash option, but of course had to go through this absolutely useless company Acceptance Now, you wouldn't believe the *** retarded *** they came up with in order to separate us basically, not letting us purchase the stupid couch as the married couple we are!! No somehow my husband got the approval but I get denied!?!?! His credit sucks!!

So does his payment history!! He ALWAYS pays the minimum on his CC's and I've NEVER paid just the minimum due (even if it's only $10 more) not to mention I've had a good standing bank acct for 15yrs compared to his 5yrs? Ohhh after reading these comments I juuuuust know what's going to be told to me tomorrow and I'm NOT a nice person lol, I don't hold back and if they even think about arguing with me after all these terrible reviews I've just read I'll most likely drop-kick the person dumb enough to work for such a thieving company!! I'll also find the Rooms to Go manager (whoever it is working at the time, because they alllll damn well know this is a slimy *** company!!)

We have ALL had a bad year in one way or another, yes 2020 can definitely suck it!

These little *** making it worse doesn't help us, obviously doesn't help the economy and sure as *** doesn't help our morale any!! I've lost my grandfather in 2020, I've lost 2 dear friends in 2020, we've had dozens of named storms, earthquakes in unheard of places, viruses killing us, allll in 2020!!! The tropical storm ETA that skirted up Fl, well the Tampa Bay area got hit the hardest without actual landfall and our boss calls us to tell us to get home safely (plus schools had just released kids 20 mins before, thankfully my husband was already on the way) but me? No I was in the middle of 10 things and couldn't just stop (commercial insurance is seriously stressful enough on top of all this crap!) so I get stuck there till 3pm, well storm was already starting the hard winds and I'm driving down a 6 lane hwy and BAM start hydroplaning and couldn't get control, so I hit the concrete barrier, bouncing off, doing a 360 circle and smack that barrier again in the back!

Thanks 2020!! 3 days after the accident? Yea I can't make this *** up!

My *** mother dies at the age of 58!!!

So I'll be damned if I'm about to let this company beat ME!!!! I will get my $ back or I'll take it back, and they won't like the way I do it (right outta their ***

View full review
Loss:
$500
Cons:
  • Not explaining anything
  • Deceptive practices
  • Not giving proper paperwork

Preferred solution: Give me my expensive couch without charging me extra

User's recommendation: WARNING!!! DO NOT WORK W/THESE THIEVES!!

1 comment
Takiyah Bkx

I’m filing a class action lawsuit. Anyone who wants to join, please respond. This company is finished with taking advantage of consumers.

Jamilah Ssw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Fairfield, Ohio

Wrong number

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I keep getting a elderly woman who has left a voice message saying this's not your number. She is very aggravated with the called. It has been the wrong number now for over a year.
View full review
Nadine F Grj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I called to pay bill and the rep closeout my account. I was only making a payment

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I called 02 12 2021 to pay my payment and I asked therep what's my balance. I told her I'm making a payment. She took the balance out my account
View full review
Loss:
$557

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Alpharetta, Georgia

Reported false information on my credit

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I went in to purchase a bed from Rooms to go in Alpharetta on December 10,2020.I was gonna do the three months payout.I was told they would deliver my bed a month later which they counted one of my months and I hadn't received their merchandise.So I decided to cancel the contract before it was time to deliver.I never made not one payment on that account.I received some of my money back and thought that was it.Susan from Acceptance had the nerve to report to the credit bureau that I made two payments and made it seem as if I was late on payments and that they had to come get a bed I never received.She totally messed up my credit score.And when I confronted her about it she played the dumb role as if she didn't know what I'm talking about.So now I have this fake information on my credit closed now and Im trying to get it removed.I will be getting me a lawyer and if I can sue I definitely will be.And I would advise not to mess with Rooms to go or Acceptance Now!!!

View full review
Pros:
  • Are very unprofessional
Cons:
  • Suck terribly

Preferred solution: Tell the truth and get that false information off my credit report.I dont need it closed I never received nor paid on your bed.

User's recommendation: Do not do business with Rooms to go or Acceptance now in Alpharetta Ga

Kathryn E Zgo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Doubling the price of the item for payoff.

I did a 120 day same as cash...put down $99 then $106.13 a month. by auto pay...the last payment they were suppose to pay the balance, $60? Nobody contact me....I could not get on the website....even with help from corporate, they have problems. Went to American Signature Furniture where I bought my table for an accounting of my account....now they tell me I owe $1294.? WHAT.....I have been trying to get a hold of these people for weeks and now they tell me it was my fault....NO IT IS A SCAM.....O ND
View full review
Loss:
$106
Cons:
  • Never call you back
  • Deceptive business practice

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: THIS IS A SCAM....DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS....I am working with the state of Fla Consumer on this.

Acceptance Now FAQs

Winnie Murugi
Winnie Murugi
PissedConsumer Reporter

Acceptance Now serves as an intermediary brand between reputable retailers and customers to enable customers to select products they would otherwise not have access to. They have been in operation since 2005, with over 1000 locations across the United States.

Acceptance Now FAQs

Acceptance Now buys products on behalf of the customer and leases it to them at a flexible monthly installment. Although there is no obligation for long-term debt, customers have the option to own the items.

Acceptance Now does not provide an explicit cancellation policy. However, in the FAQs, it is implied that customers can opt out of their lease agreement. For further assistance and clarification on the terms of canceling your lease agreement, get in touch with the Acceptance Now customer service.

Acceptance Now does not have a return policy. Contact their customer service for further assistance.

Customers on the Autopay program must make payments by the set renewal date for a specific payment plan. The company’s terms and conditions indicate that failure to do so nullifies the lease agreement. Payment plan options include weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly, and monthly.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article